Naval Reserve Association of Canada

Celebrating the Military and Civilian Contributions of Canadian Naval Reservists

Board Committees

Properly mandated and run Committees engage supplemental human resources to expand the effectiveness of the Board of Directors, allow more thorough and detailed examination of issues and provide opportunities for members at large to participate in and contribute to the strengthening of the Association.

Governance and Nominating Committee

Chair: Graham Scott
Vice-Chair: Bob Blakely
Members: Marta Mulkins, Daniel Haché, Ian Holloway.


The Governance and Nominating Committee supports the Board in fulfilling its responsibilities to ensure Board effectiveness through periodic review of the governance structure, the functioning of the Board and the various committees. In addition, the Governance and Nominating Committee shall identify and recommend individuals for Board membership.

Finance Committee

Chair: Ross Connell, Treasurer
Members: Nancy Bunting, Craig Walkington, Alex Grinchteine.


The Finance Committee provides guidance to the board and to the Treasurer on financial matters, including management of investments, annual budgets and responsive cash flow initiatives.

2023 Naval Reserve Centennial Committee

Chair: Roger Elmes
Members: Bill Thomas, David Craig, Stephen Rybak


1. The 2023 Committee will plan and guide the participation of the Association in the 2023 Naval Reserve Centennial.
2. The committee will encourage and facilitate the planning and execution of Association local and national events.
3. The committee will liaise with the national Naval Reserve Centennial planning committee.
4. The committee will publicize events planned by the national Naval Reserve Centennial planning committee and by the Association and encourage the participation of its members and those on its email list.
5. The committee will report to the Association Board.

Membership and Recruitment Committee

Chair: François Laplante
Members: Cheryl Bush, Ross Connell, Gord Laco, Andy Pollock, Ray Zuliani



Transitions Committee

Chair: Ray Zuliani
Members: Ross Connell, Dave Arsenault, Nick Slonosky, Marta Mulkins, Cheryl Bush, François Laplante



Archives Committee

Chair: Vacant
Members: Ian Holloway, Bill Clearihue, Gordon Laco, Iain Munro, Matt Davies, Ian Barker, Glenn Carroll


The Archivist is charged with gathering and collating material relating to reserve officer naval training in Canada, and specifically, with maintaining a database of all participants, public elements of which database are published on the Association web site. In recognition of the magnitude of this (volunteer) job, especially maintenance of the Nominal List, and of the need to expand its work to a) actively solicit more material, b) gather material in one place or at least document material and its location, and c) identify a perpetual repository (ies) for both physical and digital material, the Association board hereby establishes the Archives Committee to collabourate with and support the Archivist in his responsibilities.

Communications Committee

Chair: Ross Connell (Acting)
Members: Bill Clearihue, Barry Frewer, Peter Baker, Paul Seguna, Nick Slonosky, François Laplante, Rob Tonus


A cohesive communications strategy will ensure the messages we put out in our Newsletter, Web Site, email bulletins, etc are consistent with our mission and goals and that we have sufficient depth of volunteer resources to perpetuate our communications. To this end, the board establishes a Communications Committee. The Committee will recruit members who are prepared to carry on the work of Newsletter Editor Bill Clearihue, maintain the Web Site and issue bulletins as appropriate.

Citizen Sailors Virtual Cenotaph Project

Project Manager: Kim Kubeck
Members: Ross Connell, Scott Ferris, Émilie Caron


As its signature contribution to the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Canadian Naval Reserve in 2023, the Association has embarked on a project to complete the stories of the 1,769 reservists who died in World War II. While their stories exist, they are rarely seen in the reserve divisions where they joined up. The CSVC project will bring them home to the Naval Reserve Divisions across Canada.

Events & Awards Committee

Chair: Roger Elmes
Members: Cheryl Bush, Mark Nicolle, Andy Pollock, Craig Walkington


To review the Association’s policy with respect to donations and awards as expressed in the Policy manual, to ensure the policy remains appropriate as the Association evolves. All requests for donations or awards will be scrutinized by this committee in accordance with the policy and a recommendation submitted to the Board. To promote local, regional and national events to encourage the cohesion of members and in support of the Canadian Naval Reserve and its activities.

Naval Reserve Liaison Committee

Chair: Daniel Haché
Members: Ray Zuliani




Page last revised June 5, 2023.

UNTD Association of Canada © 2022. All rights reserved | Website designed by Model Vision Studios

Under Construction

Please come back later.